Dance in the Line

Line Dance Culture

Dancing to a Live Band May 14, 2012

Filed under: Dance Talk — linedancenow @ 10:23 AM
Tags: , ,

Have you ever line danced to the music of a live band? It’s not your semi-predictable dance night of music.You’re not even sure if and when you will be able to dance. Maybe the band will play songs you know but if you really want to dance, you have to figure out what line dances you know can go to the song that is playing, To do this you have be able to recognize the beat of the music. It’s like a pop quiz!

Most of time when I’m dancing, I’m thinking about the steps or how I’m moving my body. I really have to force myself to forget all that and listen to the beat of the music. Doing dances to a different songs helps me listen the beat more than thinking about the steps and it’s a lot easier to relax and enjoy the dance.

The more obvious beats are East Coast and West Coast Swings. East Coast is a faster 1-2-3, 1-2-3, 1-2 or Cha Cha Cha, Cha Cha Cha, Rock Step. West Coast is 1-2, 1-2-3 or Walk Walk, Cha Cha Cha.

Dancing to a live band may require a certain level of bravery. If you have your regular group of dance friends it isn’t scary to step out on the dance floor and dance. I am okay dancing if I at least have at least one other person to dance with. If I mess up, I have someone to help me find my place. If it’s a song I know really well and like a lot, I will dance by myself.

If you’re not able to dance because of the live band, have a seat, relax, and enjoy the music. There is another benefit. It give the opportunity to chat with your dance friends. Since you are usually dancing, this gives you a chance to get to know each other.

 

2 Responses to “Dancing to a Live Band”

  1. Mimi Says:

    I remember my parents dragging me to concerts when I was little and they couldn’t find a sitter. I wasn’t into concerts at age nine or ten but I loved to see them join the crowds of people dancing in front of the stage.

    I like the idea of enjoying the music even further by breaking into dance. I don’t see any kind of scenario in which an artist would be anything but flattered by this, and yet it’s something actively discouraged in a lot of venues today. I hereby blame insurance underwriters for this.

  2. tcranz Says:

    I love the challenge of matching a new song with a dance! It makes an old dance seem brand new. And when it works it feels great!


Leave a Reply

