Dance in the Line

Line Dance Culture

What Did I Do Before I Started Dancing? March 17, 2012

Filed under: Dance Talk — linedancenow @ 12:00 PM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I often ponder this thought because of how much time I spend dancing. And most of the time when I’m not dancing I’m thinking about it. I know I’m addicted, but there are far worse things to be obsessed with, right?

So here it is- what I did before I started dancing.

Golf: I’ll be honest I didn’t even consider this a real sport, but a guy I liked taught golf and invited me to his class. Much to my surprise I actually enjoyed golf. Every week on the driving range I became more aware of how to position my body to use the club to make the ball go where it was supposed to go. (It didn’t work out with the guy but we ended up becoming good friends.)

Painting: In one of my classes the teacher said that with practice anyone could learn the techniques for painting. I started to see this was true. There is so much room for creativity. You can paint impressionist scenes like Van Gogh or bright, happy characters like Britto. This is one of my paintings, it is an interpretation of Van Gogh’s Cafe Terrace at Night using a scene from a place near where I work.

Photography: I’m the bossy photographer who likes to make people pose. This involves making cousins pretend they are swimming in a wall sized painting of the ocean or kiss an astronaut suit statue. It’s important to stop and capture the moment though, don’t we all like to look back and remember the good times?

Dancing captures a little bit of each of these activities. It involves an awareness of your body similar to golf. Devoting time to practice to improve your technique and developing your style as with painting. And as we gather together to dance every week, sometimes I like to take a step back and admire the scene, my friends dancing beside me.

What did you do before you started dancing?

 

2 Responses to “What Did I Do Before I Started Dancing?”

  1. I love your painting! I’m a writer, and writing takes up almost all of my spare time. Before I became obsessed with writing, I spent time reading, running long distance, and cooking; my husband misses my cooking! 🙂

    • Cool, I also like fiction writing. I have a bunch of short stories and a few novels I started but I’m not very good at taking the time to edit. I rather just keep writing. Hopefully one day I will get through it. Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

